Totoro waiting at the bus stop

Photo credit: My Modern Met

When I was in Australia, a housemate introduced me to Totoro (龙猫). The Japanese animation has provided a comfort zone since being away from home. The story was a heart warming one touching on friendship and being there for each other.

So, after reading the article in Japan Insides, I really love the idea of Totoro statue at the bus stop. The 70 years old grandpa in Takaharu, Miyazaki, Japan built this statue to accompany his grandchild while waiting for bus.

The effort of the grandpa include using wood frame and layers of cement at the bottom and using plastering technique to create the life-sized Totoro.

Photo Credit: My Modern Met

Now, with Totoro, the bus stop is the hottest bus stop and became a tourist attraction.

Leave a comment